News
Ford Cuts 2027 Maverick Lobo and Tremor Prices — Then Takes EcoBoost Off the Cheap XL
The 2027 Ford Maverick XL Hybrid FWD still starts at $28,145 before destination and $29,990 with destination — unchanged — while Lobo and Tremor drop as much as $4,270 and EcoBoost comes off XL and Lariat.
Those figures are order-guide numbers, not a Ford window sticker. CarsDirect’s Alex Bernstein published the guide on August 24, 2026. Car and Driver’s Jack Fitzgerald wrote it up on August 27, asked Ford to confirm, and had not heard back. Ford has not published a 2027 Maverick spec sheet, price PDF, or photo kit.
Ford did not make the cheap truck cheaper. It made the fun trucks cheaper and hid the turbo behind a higher trim. The cheapest EcoBoost Maverick on this guide is an AWD XLT: CarsDirect prints $30,745 before destination; Car and Driver prints $32,890 with destination. Those are two reported stickers, $2,145 apart, not one number plus freight.
Sources
- CarsDirect, Aug 24, 2026, Alex Bernstein: 2027 Ford Maverick EcoBoost Prices Cut By Up To $4,270
- Car and Driver, Aug 27, 2026, Jack Fitzgerald: Ford’s Most Exciting Maverick Trims Get Sizeable Price Cuts
- The Truth About Cars, Aug 28, 2026, Matt Posky: 2027 Ford Maverick Tweaks Pricing Structure, Engine Options
- Ford Media, 2025 Maverick kit (carryover body; no 2027 OEM kit): 2025 Ford Maverick
Specs (order-guide and carryover; 2027 OEM sheet not published)
Starting prices below are order-guide, not Ford-confirmed. Hardware is carryover from TTAC, because Ford has not published a 2027 Maverick spec sheet. If a 2027 OEM number is missing, it is Not published. Car and Driver’s with-destination column uses about $1,845 freight; that constant is C/D’s, not a Ford-published 2027 destination fee. CarsDirect prints before destination unless noted.
| Spec | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Power | 2.0 EcoBoost: 250 hp / 277 lb-ft (carryover). 2.5 hybrid: 191 hp combined (carryover). 2027 OEM outputs: Not published. | TTAC Aug 28; 2027 OEM spec sheet not published |
| Towing | 2,000 lb standard / 4,000 lb with 4K Tow. Hybrids are now eligible for 4K Tow; that package used to be turbo-only. 2027 OEM sheet: Not published. | TTAC Aug 28 |
| Payload | 1,500 lb. 2027 OEM sheet: Not published. | TTAC Aug 28 |
| Bed / cab | SuperCrew unibody only. No second cab, no second bed on this guide. 2027 OEM sheet: Not published. | Order guide via CarsDirect / C/D; carryover unibody SuperCrew |
| AWD | EcoBoost on XLT AWD, Lobo, and Tremor. XL and Lariat are hybrid-only on this guide. Hybrid AWD remains in the hybrid mix. 2027 OEM AWD chart: Not published. | CarsDirect Aug 24; C/D Aug 27 |
| Ground clearance | Not published (2027 OEM). TTAC: Tremor adds enhanced ground clearance and tires for light off-road work, with no inch figure. | TTAC Aug 28 |
| Fuel / MPGe | Hybrid AWD: Ford claims up to 40 mpg city / 34 mpg highway (Ford claim via TTAC). Ford has not published 2027 EcoBoost or FWD-hybrid mpg. Other 2027 Ford mpg: Not published. | TTAC Aug 28, Ford claim |
| Transmission | Turbo: 8F35 8-speed. Optional 7-speed on Lobo. Hybrid: CVT. 2027 OEM sheet: Not published. | TTAC Aug 28 |
| Starting price, XL Hybrid FWD | Order-guide, not Ford-confirmed. $28,145 before dest (CarsDirect) / $29,990 with dest (C/D). Unchanged. | CarsDirect Aug 24; C/D Aug 27 |
| Starting price, Lobo Standard | Order-guide, not Ford-confirmed. $32,155 before dest, -$3,775 (CarsDirect) / $34,000 with dest (C/D). | CarsDirect Aug 24; C/D Aug 27 |
| Starting price, Lobo High | Order-guide, not Ford-confirmed. $37,155 before dest, -$4,270 (CarsDirect) / $39,000 with dest (C/D). | CarsDirect Aug 24; C/D Aug 27 |
| Starting price, Tremor | Order-guide, not Ford-confirmed. $37,155 before dest, -$3,490 (CarsDirect) / $39,000 with dest (C/D). | CarsDirect Aug 24; C/D Aug 27 |
| Starting price, cheapest EcoBoost | Order-guide, not Ford-confirmed. AWD XLT. CarsDirect: $30,745 before dest. C/D: $32,890 with dest. Two reported stickers, $2,145 apart — not one number plus $1,845. | CarsDirect Aug 24; C/D Aug 27 |
| 2027 OEM spec sheet | Not published. | Ford Media; C/D waiting on confirmation |
Order-guide cuts use CarsDirect before destination and Car and Driver with destination. Prior-year CarsDirect stickers are the 2026 MSRPs that paper used for the deltas. C/D’s about-$1,845 freight adds cleanly on Lobo and Tremor: $32,155 + $1,845 = $34,000, and $37,155 + $1,845 = $39,000. It does not turn CarsDirect’s XLT into C/D’s XLT.
| Trim (order-guide) | 2026 MSRP before dest (CarsDirect) | 2027 before dest (CarsDirect) | Cut | 2027 with dest (C/D) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| XL Hybrid FWD | $28,145 | $28,145 | none | $29,990 |
| Lobo Standard | $35,930 | $32,155 | -$3,775 | $34,000 |
| Lobo High | $41,425 | $37,155 | -$4,270 | $39,000 |
| Tremor | $40,645 | $37,155 | -$3,490 | $39,000 |
| Cheapest EcoBoost (XLT AWD) | not in CarsDirect’s cut table | $30,745 | floor rises (CarsDirect: about +$3,600 to access the turbo) | $32,890 |
For 2026 context only — not a 2027 Maverick number — CarsDirect puts the 2026 Ranger at $33,550 to $47,455, excluding Raptor.
TruckDaily take
Ford did not make the cheap truck cheaper. It made the fun trucks cheaper and hid the turbo behind a higher trim. Treat these as order-guide numbers until Ford confirms.
Who it’s for. The hybrid-XL shopper who wanted a cheap SuperCrew and still has the same $29,990-with-destination floor — order-guide, unchanged. The Lobo or Tremor shopper who wanted the fun truck and would not sign over $40,000 with freight: C/D’s with-destination math now parks Lobo Standard at $34,000, Lobo High at $39,000, and Tremor at $39,000.
Who should skip. Anyone who wanted a cheap EcoBoost XL. That box is gone. XL and Lariat are hybrid-only on this guide, and the turbo now starts on an AWD XLT (C/D $32,890 with dest; CarsDirect $30,745 before dest). Skip treating these numbers as a Ford window sticker. C/D asked. Ford had not answered as of August 27.
What we’d actually buy. Hybrid XL SuperCrew if the job is a cheap truck: $28,145 before dest / $29,990 with dest, order-guide, unchanged. Lobo Standard at $34,000 with dest, or Tremor at $39,000 with dest, if the job is the fun truck under $40,000 destination. Skip 2027 if the truck you wanted was a cheap EcoBoost XL.
The cheap truck did not get cheaper
CarsDirect, August 24: the 2027 Maverick Hybrid still starts at $28,145, excluding destination, on the XL. Same as before. Car and Driver’s with-freight number for that truck is $29,990, also unchanged. That is the floor. It did not drop a dollar.
TTAC’s Matt Posky, August 28, puts that floor in a longer arc. The Maverick launched for 2022 at $22,500 including destination. TTAC’s line now is about $30,000. The 2027 order guide does not reverse that. It freezes the hybrid XL and spends the cuts on Lobo and Tremor.
Ford has not said why. CarsDirect is explicit: the brand has not stated a reason. TTAC’s read is that Ford is locking the peppier turbo behind costlier trims while lowering those trims’ starting MSRPs. TruckDaily’s read is narrower and about the sticker in front of a shopper: the cheap truck is the same truck. The turbo is no longer on it.
Lobo and Tremor finally sit under $40,000 with freight
The cuts are real on the guide, and they are not a strip. CarsDirect saw no major reductions in standard equipment after the price cuts. Lobo Standard goes from $35,930 to $32,155 before destination, a $3,775 cut. Lobo High takes the biggest 2027 cut on that paper, $4,270, from $41,425 to $37,155. Tremor goes from $40,645 to $37,155, a $3,490 cut. CarsDirect’s analysis: no 2027 Maverick starts over $40,000 before freight and options.
Car and Driver converts those same cuts into with-destination stickers using about $1,845 freight. Regular Lobo lands at $34,000, down $3,775. Lobo High lands at $39,000, down $4,270. Tremor lands at $39,000, down $3,490. That is the with-freight math that puts both fun trucks under $40,000 destination. On the before-destination figures, $32,155 plus $1,845 is $34,000, and $37,155 plus $1,845 is $39,000. That $1,845 is C/D’s destination constant, not a Ford-published 2027 destination fee.
TTAC rounds the same before-destination stickers: Lobo $32,155 without destination, roughly $3,800 less than 2026; Lobo High almost $4,300 cheaper; Tremor $37,155, about $3,500 less. Shop CarsDirect’s exact dollars and C/D’s with-destination column. TTAC is rounding the same cuts; it is the hardware and transmission source, not a third price PDF.
Lobo and Tremor stay turbo-only on this guide. TTAC’s trim advice: there is not much reason to bother with either unless you want the lowered Lobo’s looks and on-road handling, or Tremor’s appearance, extra ground clearance, and tires for light off-road. TruckDaily’s buy line is the destination math: these are the trucks that actually got cheaper, and they now sit under $40,000 with freight in C/D’s column.
The turbo now hides on an AWD XLT
XL loses the 2.0 EcoBoost. Lariat loses it too. CarsDirect and Car and Driver both read the guide that way: XL and Lariat are hybrid-only for 2027. None of the three source stories printed a Lariat dollar figure as a 2027 MSRP, and none printed an XLT FWD hybrid price.
The cheapest remaining gas Maverick is an XLT with all-wheel drive. CarsDirect puts that XLT AWD at $30,745 before destination, which that paper calls about a $3,600 increase in the starting price of the EcoBoost option. Car and Driver puts the least expensive 2.0-liter Maverick, the AWD XLT in non-hybrid guise, at $32,890 with destination. TTAC ballparks the same truck at about $33,000 once the optional engine and destination are in.
TruckDaily prints C/D’s $32,890 with destination and CarsDirect’s $30,745 before destination as two reported stickers. Adding C/D’s $1,845 freight to CarsDirect’s $30,745 does not produce C/D’s $32,890. The gap is $2,145. Neither paper published an option-code breakdown that closes it.
That is the hide. The turbo still exists. It is no longer the cheap XL’s engine. It is an AWD XLT, or a Lobo, or a Tremor.
Carryover power, tow, and payload — Ford has not posted a 2027 sheet
Ford has not posted a 2027 Maverick spec sheet. The hardware here is carryover, cited to TTAC.
The 2.0 EcoBoost remains 250 hp and 277 lb-ft. The 2.5 Atkinson-cycle hybrid remains 191 hp combined. TTAC: the turbo is the quicker truck; the hybrid is the fuel-economy truck. 2027 OEM outputs are Not published.
Tow is 2,000 lb standard and 4,000 lb with the 4K Tow package. TTAC: that 4,000-pound package used to be exclusive to turbo models; Ford has since made it available for hybrids as well. Payload is 1,500 lb. Those are TTAC figures, not a 2027 Ford PDF. The 2027 OEM tow and payload cards are Not published.
Transmissions, still TTAC: the 8F35 eight-speed on the turbo, an optional seven-speed on Lobo, and a CVT on the hybrid. The seven-speed is an option on Lobo, not a story that Lobo dumped the eight-speed. Ford has not published a 2027 transmission sheet.
The only Ford mpg on this page is the hybrid-AWD claim TTAC relays: up to 40 mpg city and 34 mpg highway. Ford has not published 2027 EcoBoost mpg or FWD-hybrid mpg, and there is no 2027 EPA table in the sources used here.
Cab and bed do not multiply. SuperCrew unibody only. That is the Maverick that has always been on this body. It is still the Maverick on this guide.
Ranger is 2026 context, not a 2027 Maverick sticker
CarsDirect wonders, as a guess, whether Ford is reducing overlap with Ranger. That paper’s Ranger range is a 2026 Ranger, $33,550 to $47,455, excluding Raptor. It is not a 2027 Ranger MSRP, and it is not a reason Ford published. Ford has not stated a reason.
A 2027 Lobo Standard at $32,155 before destination now sits under that 2026 Ranger floor. A 2027 Tremor at $37,155 before destination sits inside that Ranger spread. That is overlap math on two different model years. It is optional context, not an explanation from Dearborn.
What Ford has not published yet
There is no 2027 OEM horsepower sheet, no 2027 OEM tow card, no 2027 OEM payload card, and no 2027 OEM mpg table beyond the hybrid-AWD Ford claim TTAC already printed. There is no Lariat dollar figure in the three source stories as a 2027 MSRP, no XLT FWD hybrid price, and no Amazon price. The $1,845 destination figure is C/D’s with-freight constant on the trims where the before-destination and with-destination numbers add cleanly; it is not a Ford-published 2027 line item. There is no 2027 Ford Media photo kit. There is no confirmation quote from Ford: C/D asked and had not heard back.
If Ford posts a 2027 order guide, spec PDF, or price PDF, shop that document. These order-guide numbers are a read of the dealer sheet, not a substitute for a Ford confirmation.
FAQ
Has Ford confirmed 2027 Maverick prices?
No. CarsDirect published order-guide data August 24, 2026. Car and Driver (Jack Fitzgerald, Aug 27) asked Ford to confirm the order guide and said it will update when they hear back. As of September 2, 2026, TruckDaily is not treating those stickers as Ford-confirmed.
Did Lobo and Tremor actually get cheaper?
On the guide, yes. Lobo Standard falls $3,775 to $32,155 before destination, $34,000 with destination. Lobo High falls $4,270 to $37,155, $39,000 with destination. Tremor falls $3,490 to $37,155, $39,000 with destination. CarsDirect saw no major standard-equipment strip.
Is the cheap XL cheaper for 2027?
No. XL Hybrid FWD stays $28,145 before destination / $29,990 with destination. Unchanged.
Can a shopper still order EcoBoost on XL?
Not on this guide. XL and Lariat are hybrid-only. The cheapest EcoBoost is an AWD XLT: CarsDirect $30,745 before destination, C/D $32,890 with destination.
What horsepower do these trucks make?
TTAC’s carryover ratings, not a 2027 OEM sheet: the 2.0 EcoBoost is 250 hp / 277 lb-ft, and the 2.5 hybrid is 191 hp combined. 2027 OEM outputs are not published.
Can the hybrid tow 4,000 lb?
TTAC says 2,000 lb standard and 4,000 lb with 4K Tow, and hybrids are now eligible for that 4K Tow package. Payload is 1,500 lb. The 2027 OEM sheet is not published.
What transmission is on the turbo and the hybrid?
TTAC: the turbo uses the 8F35 eight-speed, Lobo can take an optional seven-speed, and the hybrid uses a CVT.
What mpg is Ford claiming?
Only the figure TTAC relays: hybrid AWD up to 40 city / 34 highway, a Ford claim. Other Ford mpg is not published.
Is this a new body?
No 2027 OEM kit. Cab and bed are still SuperCrew unibody only. Press art is the 2025 Ford Media Maverick kit, carryover body.
How does this sit next to Ranger?
Optional context only, and it is a 2026 Ranger: CarsDirect $33,550 to $47,455, excluding Raptor. Not a 2027 Ranger number. Not a Ford-stated reason for the Maverick cuts.
Should a shopper order off this guide?
Hybrid XL if you want the cheap truck and will accept the frozen $29,990-with-destination floor. Lobo or Tremor if you wanted the fun truck under $40,000 dest. Skip if you wanted a cheap EcoBoost XL. Wait for Ford if you need a confirmed window sticker.
Last updated September 6, 2026. Author: TruckDaily.